Posted in Semester Reviews

AY 2020/2021 YEAR 2 SEMESTER 2

WEEEEW HEY GUYS IM BACKKK!! Can’t believe that I survived yet another semi-zoom university and I’ll be going into Year 3 soon….. Time really flies huh :”)

Before I begin, let me first express my gratitude to all my fellow readers out there~ thanks for reading and supporting my posts!! When I started this blog back in May 2020 (out of sheer boredom haha), I wouldn’t have imagined my blog to reach out to so many people/students out there (kinda scary ngl). I am extremely grateful and happy that I could help you guys out with my reviews, and I hope that in one-way-or-another, these blogposts have helped with your module planning at NUS! Additionally, with more viewers and visitors, there has also been an influx of requests…. (for notes, access to BOX folders, past year papers, tutorial answers, personal notes, yada yada) These requests go straight into my personal inbox, which can get a tad bit overwhelming at time. (which was why I closed off the contact form on the blog) As mentioned in one of my earlier updates, I have decided to not entertain these requests anymore, since I do not feel that it is part of my obligation to collate and send my materials to you. From today onwards, I would like to keep voeznusbiz as a module review website. (please find your coursework materials on CAROUSELL/ seniors instead!) Therefore, please be understanding if I do not entertain to your notes requests or comments!

With that, let’s jump right into the module reviews!

Here are the modules I have taken for Y2S2 AY2020/2021: (fyi, these are not ranked according to my preference, it’s just whatever modules that came into mind while typing up this post :p )

  1. STR2000 Career Creation Starter Clinic (0MC)
  2. FIN2704 Finance (4MC)
  3. MKT3702 Consumer Behaviour (4MC)
  4. EC2101 Microeconomics Analysis I (4MC)
  5. EC2102 Macroeconomics Analysis II (4MC)
  6. EC2303 Foundations for Econometrics (4MC)

I know what you are thinking… “Huh, why did you take Econs modules when you are a biz student????” or like “Huh omg why you take 3 Econs modules together??”

Not sure if you guys read my “About” page, but hi I’m currently double majoring in BBA and Economics! Technically, I should have taken EC2k coded modules since Y2S1, but back then I was still hesitant about my double major and had thoughts of dropping my Economics second major. Initially, my plan was to specialize in Finance, which complements nicely with Economics, which was why I accepted the double major offer at the time of admission. However, after coming into university, I found out that I didn’t particularly enjoy modules like Accounting (ACC1701) or even when taking Finance (FIN2704) this semester. Since I no longer intend to specialize in Finance, it got me to thinking whether I should continue pursuing a Economics second major, or drop it and bid for some UEs instead. Clearly, I had decided to stick with the former and have decided to continue my second major in Economics, though I may have plans to downgrade it into a minor in the future if I can’t meet the 46MCs requirement in the upcoming semesters.

Enough for now, lets get started with the actual module reviews:

  1. STR2000 Career Creation Starter Clinic (0MC)

Remember STR1000? STR2000 is just an upgraded version of STR1000, with an actual resume group critique session and a mock interview session with a career advisor! If you read my module review in AY2020/2021 Y2S1, I tried to bid for STR2000. (I got in, but received an email telling me to take it in Y2S2 instead…) For biz students, please just wait for STR2000 to be pre-allocated to you, so you won’t have to go through the process of redrawing from the class haha.

Even though I couldn’t take this module last semester, all’s fine because I was pre-allocated STR2000 this semester. TBH, STR2000 was more stressful than STR1000, since your resume and interviewing skills will be critique by an actual career advisor in a 1 hour zoom call. There will usually be around 5 students and 1 career advisor in the zoom call, and we will have to critique each other’s resume and interview answers and even give recommendations of how one can improve/do better. Even though STR2000 was more stressful, it was also more useful than STR1000, because instead of having to sit in a 3 hour seminar and listening to the instructor talk about what kind of vocabs/words to use in our resume, the career advisor for STR2000 will properly critique your own personalized resume (that you have typed up in STR1000) and give solid advise on how you can improve on it. Even for the mock interview sessions, the career advisor will ask 2 questions to each student, and give feedback on how one can improve his/ her interview skills or even how to prepare for similar questions in the future.

Personally, I wasn’t nervous at all for the group resume critique session, but I was extremely nervous for the group interviewing session. (who wouldn’t?! There’s just something nerve-wrecking about not knowing how to answer a question haha) The day before the mock interview, I spent a long-time looking at the sample mock interview questions uploaded on LumiNUS and prepared some mock answers for some of the questions…. and I was super lucky to have the career advisor ask 2 questions which I was fully prepared for (HAH, ngl I was secretly relieved for preparing for the session) Nerve-wrecking as it seems, I still appreciated going through the full process of the mock interview and knowing that I still had areas of improvement that I should work on. Despite it being a 0MC module, I felt like this was one of the most (if not the most) useful module I have taken this semester.

2. FIN2704 Finance (4MC)

FIN2704 builds up on some of the ACC1701 knowledge that you have learnt in Year 1. (not surprising, since ACC1701 is a pre-requisite for ACC1701). This was a pre-allocated core biz module that is compulsory for all business students to take in Year 2. Thanks to FIN2704, I get to travel to school for a 45-minutes tutorial session on a 9am morning before heading home to watch my online lectures ( sigh ) Honestly, I appreciated the concept of having physical lessons at school (face to face interaction > zoom interactions ). However, I’m not sure how effective the FIN2704 physical lessons were, when we were expected to go to school to attend ZOOM lessons on our laptop???? (yes you saw this right, imagine going to school to have “physical lessons”, but haha sike you have to attend lessons on ZOOM at the physical venue… huh???) To be honest, I was really confused when I saw the announcement for this “physical arrangement”, like… for reals… might as well let us attend classes at home? It wasn’t an option to skip physical lessons as well because there was tutorial attendance, so I had to drag myself to school for FIN2704 tutorial lessons every week. Every week, there will also be a presenting group for the tutorial questions, and we were expected to present our solutions to the class. (For class participation points) Honestly, the FIN2704 tutorial questions have been reused so many times over the past few semesters, and one could easily solve the questions if they have the past-year tutorial solutions. Because of this, I believe that every single group presented the correct answers for all the tutorial questions, so I wonder how the tutor is grading our class presentation points?

On the bright side, FIN2704 lectures were online and uploaded the weekend before the actual lecture slot. We were expected to finish watching the lecture videos before attending the lecture slot (which has attendance tracking…), where she will clarify some of the lecture content materials for the week and also do our weekly (ungraded) lecture quizzes. (which she also uses to track our attendance) Many FIN2704 students attended the online ZOOM FIN2704 lectures to get the lecture attendance points, but since we don’t have to turn on our mic/ video, some of my friends just entered the zoom meeting for the attendance points and went back to sleep/ do other stuff haha. (eh, not encouraging you to do the same, I for once paid close attention to her lectures!!)

Grading component wise for FIN2704: there are 3 quizzes (though best 2 out of 3 quizzes are taken), Mid-terms and Finals. Good news: all of these are in MCQ format and open-book (which does not necessarily makes it easier, but MCQ is still better than open-ended questions right…)

Quiz: Only best 2 out of 3 quizzes are taken. Usually 3-4 chapters are tested per quiz, with around 5 MCQ questions for 15 minutes. Questions were a mix of descriptions, definitions and calculations. (no, there is no true or false questions) Despite studying hard for the quizzes, I found the quiz questions to be quite tough. I personally flunked the first quiz, and had to make up for the rest of the 2 quizzes. However, my scores were mediocre at best (yikes).

Mid-term: Was done on ZOOM during our lecture slot. Since there were 2 different lecture slots, this meant that there were two different versions of the FIN2704 mid term paper. I can only personally speak for the afternoon session, and boy did I struggle through the mid-term questions. The mid term questions were quite tricky, added with the lack of backward navigation, which meant that I couldn’t even skip the questions I didn’t know and come back to it later. I got really anxious nearing 10 minutes to the paper with like around 5-6 questions left to attempt. Needless to say that I struggled with the calculations (and with the keying of the values into the financial calculator) , so I randomly guessed the last few questions for the paper. (and haha there was a 20% probability of getting the correct option, but when I checked my mid-term report, I guessed everything wrongly :’D ) Unsurprisingly, on my own standards, I didn’t do well for the mid-term paper, but when comparing against the cohort, I was just a little bit over the median score, so I guess many struggled with finishing the paper on time too so wew thank you bell-curve!

Finals: TBH, I just ended my Finance finals today (At the time of writing this blogpost), and oh my, wtf was that paper??? 36 questions in 1.5 hours WAS DEFINITELY NOT ENOUGH for us to do all the calculations. Finals was cumulative, meaning that chapters 1-12 were tested. Sure, it’s open-book and in MCQ format, but the amount of intense calculations needed for a single question and also looking through all the options for the definition/true-false/ which of these options are correct/ incorrect TAKES TIME too. Additionally, there was no backward navigation (despite it being a physical exam, where it would have been so unlikely for one to even cheat/communicate???), which was really gg for me, since I got heavy calculation questions in the beginning of the exam (Screw you random question generator), and every time i arrive at an answer, that answer is not even in one of the option. It wasn’t the case where I could REDO the entire question again and repeat all the crazy calculations, because i still have 35 other questions to do and time was a serious constraint. Anyway, it was really gg for me and I just gave up and chose the closest option just so i can move on…. only to be met with another calculation question and the cycle goes on… hahahaa…… Honestly, I was feeling quite demoralized after the paper, because I felt like I guessed almost half the paper (yep, really). It wasn’t that I couldn’t do the paper, but it was the time-pressure that made me more susceptible to careless mistakes. (excuses… but hey saying this makes me feel better LOL) I feel that if given more time to do the paper, I could have at least gotten some of the questions right but yeah it’s too late for me to complain now. I obviously didn’t finish the paper, and was at Q33 when the timer just ran out and submitted the paper for me haha thanks Examplify. However, I wasn’t the only person who couldn’t finish the paper, I heard many didn’t get to finish the paper too so yk… hopefully the bellcurve will save us all

For an intro-finance module, the content of FIN2704 is really interesting, giving insights on PV, FV, stocks, bonds, coupons etc. However, I did not enjoy the heavy calculations needed for this module, though I understand that it was necessary since its “Finance” afterall. Those taking this module, (sadly for biz, this is a compulsory core mod), good luck man. But hey, if you have the passion and have some prior knowledge, you can do well!

3. MKT3702 Consumer Behaviour (4MC)

This is my first biz 3k module at NUS! It was done physically so we had to go to school to attend a 3-hours seminar. I am not sure what is the standard for a usual 3k module, but there were 2 presentations and 2 reports that we had to write in MKT3702.

LIT Presentation: So we had to draw lots among a range of 8 topics and give a 20 minutes presentation followed by some Q&A questions. Quite an informal presentation, and prof said that we could refer to our phone/ cue cards if we wished to. Additionally, not everyone has to present (though everyone in my group did for fairness) 2 groups will present every week, so for almost every week, 1.5 hours of the lessons were dedicated to group presentations, and all we had to do is to sit there and listen ( or stone ) if we are not presenting. Quite shiok ah, I felt like I was having a 1.5 hours break time because all we had to do was sit there and listen. I love it.

Final Presentation: A more formal presentation, about lifestyle habits during COVID-19. So we had to choose a topic that has gotten popular during the pandemic, but this time, we have to write a formal report and slides. Additionally, all of us had to present as our presentations are individually graded. My groupmates were quite cooperative, so we worked quite well with each and split the work equally. During the presentation day, we also went through our speech clearly and concisely (even though we didn’t even rehearse face-to-face), and the prof didn’t even ask us any Q&A questions (unlike the other groups, so I guess our slides were well done yay!) Thank you prof!!!!

Report: So there were two reports to be written. One was on our hobby (yep, legit write about your hobby), and then linking it into a brand. Another topic was on the hot topic of “cancel culture” (Prof mentioned that it was a coincidence that the same topic got viral on Straits Times), which I particularly enjoyed writing as well. We had one week to do each report, and I managed to throw quite a fair bit of marketing content and examples into my report. Not sure how well I fared, but I was sitting nicely around the median for the first report so all’s good!

We even ended off MKT3702 with a bang – an impromptu skit by each group (how fun!!). NGL, it was quite stressful having to come up with slides and a skit with only 40-minutes, but this is perhaps the charm of a 3k marketing module haha. I love how the professor incorporated elements of fun into her class, so we won’t just be bombarded with lecture content and materials (that I honestly can’t even remember now), and the skit was a perfect way to end off the semester. I have such a great impression of the professor, that I even hope that I will have lessons under her again :). ABSOLUTELY 100/10 will recommend bidding for this module!

4. EC2101 Microeconomics Analysis I (4MC)

EC2101 is a Economics core module required for students clearing the 2nd major in Economic program. However, this was not pre-allocated since my home faculty is under BBA, so I had to bid for during MODREG. Since this was a pre-requisite for many higher level 3k economics module, there tend to many slots available for students, even for those who are only keen to clear it as an UE. For students who want to take EC2101, I believe that are pre-requisites such as EC1101E or BSP1703, so make sure to clear either one of these modules to be eligible for bidding!

This was my first time taking a Economics module at FASS. (except for GET1023: Thinking Like an Economist, but hey that’s just a GE module) Since FASS has all their lessons/tutorials/lectures online, this was a fully online module and we didn’t have to travel to school to attend physical lessons.

As a biz student who have taken BSP1703 (aka the biz version of econs), EC2101 was on a completely different scale and difficulty level. To be honest, modules at business faculties are less maths-focused, and even BSP1703 was more focused on economics theory with little emphasis on mathematics deduction. EC2101 however, was extremely maths-heavy and involve heavy calculations, and there was an introduction of different graphs, mathematical formulas, optimization problems and differentiation questions. Having not touched differentiation since BPM1701, it took me quite a while to recall how to do basic differentiation questions and how to do Lagrange multiplier problems. However, the EC2101 department were helpful enough to upload differentiation videos and guides on how to solve these problems using mathematical analysis, so do not worry if you find yourself getting rusty/ forgetting how to do differentiation, because there will be a brief recap as the beginning of the semester. Likewise, it was also recommended that students take EC2101 and EC2104 together, since they do contain overlapping content and materials learnt in EC2104 may supposedly help with EC2101. ( Disclaimer: I personally didn’t take EC2101 and EC2104 together, but heard these from my friends!) Also, take caution that this cannot be S/U-ed (argh), and be wary of the insane bellcurve for this module.

My personal opinion for EC2101 is that there is just too much workload. With weekly quizzes and weekly problem set submissions, EC2101 took up most of time. However, I guess that is one way for the department to ensure that we keep up with the EC2101 content, especially since this was a fully-online module which means that we may be less-disciplined (?) to watch the weekly content. Personally, EC2101 was my favourite Economics modules for the first half of the semester, but as the content got more complicated and confusing, I started to dread EC2101 near the end of the semester. With the introduction of so many graphs almost every single week, the content got more and more confusing (at least for me). Additionally, supposedly some of these later chapters were already covered in EC1101E, but I have personally taken BSP1703 and not EC1101E, and I felt like I was missing out on the content because they were not really covered in BSP1703? Therefore, while other students who have taken EC1101E may have some prior knowledge about the cost curve graphs, it wasn’t the same for me as I had to start from the beginning. However, that it not to say that you will lose out to other students, because these graphs will be quite easy to derive once you understand the concept behind them. (so one just has to work harder lol)

Grading wise for EC2101, there are various components such as Quiz, Problem Sets, Class Participation, Mid Terms and Finals.

Quiz: As mentioned earlier, there are weekly quizzes consisting of around 5-6 questions on LumiNUS. Everything is in MCQ format, and the department will take the top score out of the 3 tries. Honestly, because there’s at least 3 tries for the weekly quizzes, one can just keep redoing the quiz until he/she has gotten the full marks, so I think everyone pretty much gotten full marks for this component. Personally, I also redid all the 12 quizzes until I have gotten full marks for all of them.

Problem Sets: In a group of 2-3, we have to submit problem sets for each topic every week. There are about 4-5 questions per week, but if we split them within the group, one only has to do 1-2 questions per week. I managed to bid for the same tutorial slot with a friend, and we were grouped into the same problem set group, so it was quite shiok to do the problem sets together without worrying about snakes or freeloaders within the team. Not sure how the problem sets were graded, but the department claims that the marks were not given based on the “rights” or “wrongs”, but rather the work we put into deriving the answers.

Class Participation: Just go to tutorial classes every week and answer the tutor’s questions to get free class participation marks! I pretty much class participated every single week. (It was a small class size, and the tutor always had enough questions to go around: aka if you don’t speak, the tutor will call your name :’D) Some of the class participation questions involve lecture content and problem set questions, so we can easily answer these questions as long as we have revised the materials before class.

Mid-terms: A mixture of MCQ questions and open-ended questions. Unlike Biz modules where examinations tend to be open book (so shiok!), EC2101 was sadly not open book. Thankfully, since it was an online examination, we did not have to draw graphs (else gg) but just had to know how to do the mathematical questions and content questions. MCQ were a shockingly high weightage of 5-6 marks each, and the open-ended questions were quite similar to the problem set questions, though some appeared to be quite challenging and tricky. I can’t remember how the cohort scored but I believe the 75th percentile was around 70-80 marks? Apparently the professor mentioned that it was considered quite low as compared to previous few cohorts yikes. (I can’t imagine how bad the bellcurve must have been for the previous semesters)

Finals: Similar format to mid-terms but it was a 2 hours paper, so there were significantly more questions. Since the finals questions were cumulative, the exam tested content from chapter 1 – 12, closed-book of course. I felt that the open-ended questions were manageable, but I personally found the MCQ questions and short-answer questions to be the toughest?? Additionally, these MCQ questions and short-answer questions have an average of around 5-6 marks each, so it can be quite painful to get these questions wrong. I felt that it was a little harder than mid-terms (to be expected), and I faced technical difficulty during the exam (super suay, my examplify crashed in the middle of the exam. I still got the full duration of the paper, but the panic and anxiety I got from contacting the invigilator and CIT for help (while others are still doing their paper) were embedded within me even after the problem was fixed hais), so I don’t think I did well for the finals at all….. (So yall, please remember to disable your anti-virus before starting your Examplify Exam, dont be like me!)

Overall, after getting a first taste of taking an econs module, I admit that I am having second thoughts of continuing this second major LOL. I guess I have gotten too used to the seminar style business classes, and I personally did not really appreciate the heavy mathematics used in economics. However, it is still early to decide now, so I’ll have to look at my final grades before making a decision yikes. EC2101 content can also get really dry throughout the semester, so if you are looking to take this module, good luck and jiayous!

4. EC2102 Macroeconomics Analysis II (4MC)

EC2102 is a Economics core module required for students clearing the 2nd major in Economic program. However, this was not pre-allocated since my home faculty is under BBA, so I had to bid for during MODREG. I took it under Prof Wang, who is known to focus more on the mathematical side of macroeconomics. And true enough, I was horrified at the mathematics in EC2102, as they were on a truly different scale from EC2101. Especially since we had to know how to derive the equations algebraically, added on with my lack of familiarity with macroeconomics ( I took H1 Economics, and I faintly remember only the micro portion of economics rip), meant that I struggled a lot with EC2102. In fact, I dreaded every new chapter of EC2102, because the confusion just piles up repeatedly. However, Prof Wang is really great at explaining even the most complex graphs and equations into simpler economic terms, which I truly appreciate. Since he uploads his lecture materials and zoom recording on LumiNUS, I also found myself replaying his videos and re-watching the lecture multiple times to grasp the concepts.

Perhaps one thing that helped me get through EC2102 was the fact that I took BSP2701 Global Economy last semester, which is a compulsory 2MC core module that biz students have to take. BSP2701 actually covers a small portion of EC2102, and there were a few repeating content about the Savings-Investment, Full-Employment Line, Production Functions etc, which really helped lighten my workload. Perhaps it would be good for biz students to take BSP2701 before taking EC2102, or take them concurrently because there are often overlapping content. (BSP2701 is only 2MC btw, so the workload isn’t too much)

Workload wise, EC2102 only has Class Participation, Mid-terms and Finals.

Class Participation: Each student will have to volunteer to present questions during the tutorial slots. On average, each student presents 2-3 times during the semester. We weren’t able to “chope” the questions, so one has to be quick in unmuting his/her mic to present before others take the questions lol. Personally, I was in quite a small class (around ~10 students), so we had our fair share of presentations. If you are taking EC2102, please present your questions asap, because the tutorial questions get significantly harder in the middle of the semester, and the tutor will just call your name if you haven’t presented haha. That aside, the amount of time i spent on each tutorial problem sets were insane? It wasn’t the fact that there were many questions, but some of the questions involve mathematical derivations, which I struggled a lot in, and it wasn’t like I could refer to the slides and extract the answers. I found myself being unable to solve some of the questions in the middle of the semester, that I just gave up doing some of the questions. Eventually, I was despo enough to even search the net hoping for past year answers on Coursehero, but there weren’t any. (and I did not know any friends/ seniors taking this module.. ) However, all’s good since we do not have to submit the tutorial questions anyway, and I did try to class-participate for questions that I knew.

Mid-terms: Mid-terms were just MCQ questions and some short-answer questions on Examplify. (Closed-book) While a lot of mathematical questions were introduced in the lectures and in tutorials, the mid-term questions somehow focused more on the content and the explanations instead. However, that doesn’t mean that it was easier, as we saw that the median marks was only around 18/35 LOL. However, Prof Wang was nice enough to moderate the marks and be more lenient with his markings, giving additional 2.25 marks for each student. I personally benefited with a +4.5 marks after moderation and sat nicely at around the 75th percentile 🙂 (thanks prof!!) TBH, I think I only did well because we were not tested too heavily on the mathematical derivations, else I would have been destroyed by the bell curve haha.

Finals: Finals were a mix of MCQ questions and handwritten questions that we had to upload on LumiNUS. It was an absolute disaster. I obviously had not learnt my lesson with EC2101 and still failed to turn off my anti-virus software, so my Examplify crashed once again in the middle of the exam (sigh 100% my fault). Panic messaged the invigilator and asked for help, and was quickly attended to. I didn’t lose any time from the examination, but once again, the panic and anxiety were rooted within me as I continued doing the paper, so my mind was pretty blank while writing out my answers. Not only that, I struggled with this 10 marks question and was already stuck at a), which meant that I couldn’t continue doing questions b) – e), so I pretty much submitted a blank piece of paper for that question. ( ISTG i have never seen that type of question in our tutorial and lecture before, it was like a modified question of a 2-consumer 2-period optimization problem, like ?????) And it wasn’t like I could ask anyone if they struggled too cuz I don’t know anyone taking EC2102 with me, so hopefully the bellcurve can just help us all. :’)

Overall, to give a fair and honest review, I did not really enjoy EC2102 but I strongly feel that it was due to my preference for microeconomics rather than macroeconomics. Macroeconomics is just too foreign and abstract to understand for me, and I struggled a lot with the mathematical analysis during classes. And lmao I can’t imagine having to take EC3102 when I am already struggling this much with EC2102. However, I think the reason I am feeling this way is because it was my first actual exposure to macroeconomics, and I just needed more time to grasp the concept. This is just my opinion, but perhaps for students who are more passionate about macroeconomics will enjoy EC2102 (at least more than me :’D)

5. EC2303 Foundations for Econometrics (4MC)

EC2303 is one of those econs module where you think that you can get a solid chance of getting an A (at the beginning of the semester), before getting siked by the content near the end of the semester and the report questions.

Here is an accurate representation of my feelings towards EC2303:

(First half of the semester) Wah so shiok! I already learnt CDF, PDF, PMF in DAO1704, everything’s gonna be ezpz!

(Mid term report) Wah even the report questions were manageable, I can do almost all the questions! (PS: author got destroyed by the bellcurve)

(Second half of the semester: Week 7 – 9) Hmmm, things are getting more complicated now! But nvm, I have already learnt Covariance, Correlation in FIN2704 Finance and also CLT in GER1000!

(Second half of the semester: Week 10-12) wtf is going on? What is this Chebyshev Inequality? Huh how to derive and proof this sia? Huh what is regression and OLS??? (PS: author has learnt regression and OLS in DAO2702 Python Programming, but only knows how to do it on Jupyter Notebook but not mathematically)

(Final report) ??????????????? (PS: it was a 24-hours report, but author still couldn’t solve the questions)

EC2303 was just one-hell of a rollercoaster ride for me, and I am still feeling demoralized after the report questions that I can’t imagine how I am going to take handle EC3303 in future semesters. Kudos to all Economics students who have to go through these for almost all their modules… I now appreciate doing projects and presentations at biz instead.

TLDR, I just feel like there was a huge contrast between what was taught in lectures and problem sets, to what was actually tested in the report? It also clearly doesn’t help that this was a 24-hours report, and even though there was no collaboration allowed, there wasn’t any proctoring involved to actually ensure that one does not discuss with friends. I was absolutely destroyed by the bell curve for the mid-term report, and I don’t even want to imagine how badly the scores for my final report will be. It is times like this where I am extremely grateful for the S/U system in place for me to S/U away this module, because there was absolutely no way that I can even get a good grade. Disclaimer that these are my personal experiences taking this module, so maybe I am just bad with Econometrics, so it may not be applicable to you. Overall, I enjoyed the beginning part of EC2303, BUT not the EC2303 content at the end of the semester. I also wish that there were most consistency between what was actually taught in lectures and classes and report questions, because the difference between what was taught and what was tested were imo extremely different. I rather be exposed to more difficult questions in lectures, just so I can be better prepared for examinations, instead of being siked by the lecture content and be so demoralize with the report questions.

….and THATS IT!!!

Thanks for reading my module review for AY2020/2021 Semester 2, and wow it blows my mind how I’ll be Year 3 next year and it feels like just yesterday when I stepped into NUS feeling all confused and lost about how things work. Of course, it absolutely sucks that I spent my Year 2 having zoom university, but I cant even imagine how it must feel to be a Year 1, who probably may not even have the chance to have physical lessons at school. I hope things get better in the next few months, and things will go back to normal. For now, continue pressing on, and have fun for your summer break!!!

P.s. This blogpost is unedited at the time of posting. Sorry for all the grammar mistakes and errors, will find the time to check when I am free. Just wanted to make this post available first since I have been inactive for a while 🙂

voez

29/4/2021

Author:

Hi, I am currently a Year 4 student taking a double major in Business Administration (Marketing) and Economics at the National University of Singapore. When I first entered university, I remembered feeling lost and confused about how things work at NUS, and thus created VOEZNUSBIZ, a blog where I can help juniors and prospective students alike on their journey at NUS.

Leave a comment